External Scientific Advisory Committees (ESAC)

  1. Each thematic research area will have an External Scientific Advisory Committee.
  2. The External Scientific Advisory Committees will be bodies providing support and general scientific advice for the Governing Body, made up of scientists of special international relevance in the field of health sciences who have been distinguished in their professional or scientific careers in line with the Consortium’s objectives.
  3. Each External Scientific Advisory Committee will be made up of a President, elected by the President of the Governing Body, after hearing the aforementioned Governing Body’s opinion, and at least four members, appointed by the Governing Body. 

    The duration of the President’s office will be four years, and be extendible. The other members shall be in office for an initial term of two years, later extendible for different periods of time. The members of each External Scientific Advisory Committee shall designate their vice-president and secretary from their members.

  4. The Committees shall meet at least once a year, similarly being able to be called by their President at his or her  own initiative or at the request of the number of members to be defined..
  5. The members of the External Scientific Advisory Committees shall carry out their work on an unpaid basis with no prejudice to their right to be refunded for any duly substantiated expenses meant for them by the post and the per diems to which they are entitled in exercising their duties, in the terms laid down in State legislation, represented by Royal Decree 462/2002,  of 24th May, on compensation for service.

Functions of the External Scientific Advisory Committee in their thematic research area in the CIBER:

  1. The External Scientific Advisory Committee for each of the thematic areas of research shall inform and advise the Governing Body on the characteristics of the scientific and technical research in the national and international domains and on their possible effects on the operation of the CIBER.
  2. It shall also carry out the following functions:
    1. Advising with regard to the directives of scientific policy and institutional relations to be implemented by the CIBER.
    2. To examine and report on the proposal of the Strategic Plan, the proposals of Annual Scientific Reports and of the Annual Action Plans.
    3. To report on the suitability of programmes, resources and capacities for the purposes of the consortium.
    4. To advise on the strategy for transfer of results of the research.
    5. To advise on the policy of incorporating scientific personnel.
    6. To inform on the creation of research programmes.

Members of the External Scientific Advisory Committee:

Abhay Pandit Centre for Research in Medical Devices (CÚRAM) National University of Ireland - Galway, Ireland
Leif Sörnmo Biomedical Engineering Department, University of Lund, Sweden
Wofgang Parak Philipps Universität Marburg, Germany
Niilo Saranummi VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
Matthias Epple Centre for Medical Biotechnology, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Begoña Castro Scientific Director Histocell, Spain
Patrick Boisseau Business development in NanoMedicine at CEA-Leti, Chair of the Executive Board of European Technology Platform on Nanomedicine, France
Alberto A. Gabizon Shaare Zedek Medical Center, Oncology Institute The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
Joan Bigorra Director of Innovation, Hospital Clinic de Barcelona, Spain
Pilar Calvo Chief of Pharmaceutical Development in PHARMAMAR, Spain

Harriet Wallberg, Instituto Karolinska, Solna, (Suecia)
Sally M. Marshall Universidad de Newcastle, Newcastle, (UK)
Timo Otonkoski Universidad de Helsinki, Helsinki, (Finlandia)
Decio Eizirik Universidad Libre, Bruselas (Bélgica)
Antonio Vidal-Puig Universidad de Cambridge, Cambridge (UK)
Ele Ferrannini Universidad de Pisa, Pisa (Italia)
Guadalupe García-Tsao Presidenta. University of Yale
Michael Trauner Vocal. University of Vienna
Alberto Sánchez-Fueyo Vocal. King´s College London
Massimo Colombo Vocal. University of Milán
Jan Tack Vocal. University of Leuven

Josep Torrent Farnell Fundació Dr. Robert, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Ségolène Aymé Instiut de la Santé et Recherche Médicale, Paris
Jean-Jacques Cassiman Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium
Jean-Marie Saudubray Hôpital Pité-Salpêtrière, Paris
Mª Rita Passos-Bueno Centro de Estudos do Genoma Humano, São Paulo

Dr. David Gozal President. Univ Chicago, USA
Prof. Francesco Blasi Univ. Milano.
Prof. Antonio Azueto Member. Texas, USA
Prof. Kenneth BM Reid Member. Univ. Oxford, United Kingdon
Prof. Michael S. Niederman Member. New York, USA
Prof. James R. Jett  Member. Minnesota, USA
Dr. Marc Humbert. Centre National de Référence de l'Hypertension Pulmonaire Sévère. París.
Prof. Bruno Crestaní.

Member. Univ. Paris Diderot.

Dr. Miguel Viveiros

Instituto de Higiene e Medicina Tropical Universidade NOVA de Lisboa

Prof. Henrique Barros Presidente. Universidad de Oporto. Presidente de la Sociedad Internacional de Epidemiología
Dr. José Becerra Vocal. CDC de Atlanta (EE.UU)
Prof. Javier Nieto Universidad de Wisconsin (EE.UU)
Prof. Stanley Presser University of Maryland (EE.UU)
Prof.Eric Van Ganse Vocal. U. de Lyon (Francia)
Xavier Pi-Sunyer Department of Medicine, St. Luke's/Roosevelt Hospital Center
Antonio Vidal-Puig University of Cambridge Metabolic Research Laboratories, Institute of Metabolic Science
Geltrude Mingrone Catholic University of Rome
José M. Ordovás Professor Nutrition and Genetics JM-USDA-HNRCA at Tufts University
Lluis Fajas Research Director Metabolism and Cancer Laboratory - Montpellier - France
Jim Van Os Universidad de Utrecht, Países Bajos.
Alessandro Zuddas. Universidad de Cagliari, Italia
Monica Di Luca. Universidad de Milán, Italia.

Til Wykes.

King’s College de Londres, Reino Unido.
Heinz Grunze Universidad de Salzburgo, Austria