Steering Committe

Each  thematic research area has a Steering Committee headed by the Scientific Director, which will be made up of the Assistant Director, where applicable, the coordinators of the research programmes, the coordinator of the Education Programme and the Manager of the Consortium.


  1. To advise and support the Scientific Director in performance of his or her duties.
  2. To participate in the preparation, development and execution of the programmes approved by the Governing Body
  3. To ensure coordination and cooperation between the different research programmes of the CIBER.
  4. To guarantee the integration and coherence between the scientific and management activities of the CIBER.
  5. To advise the Director on the CIBER’s policy for scientific-technological infrastructures.
  6. To inform the Director on the performance of the groups in the programmes.
  7. To advise the Scientific Director in the preparation of the general criteria of personnel policy and trainee personnel.

Members of the Steering Committee:

Ramón Martínez-Máñez Scientific Director
José Luis Becerra Ratia Deputy Scientific Director
Raimon Jané Bioengineering and Medical Imaging Coordinator
José Luis Gómez Ribelles Biomaterials and Advanced Therapies Coordinator
M. Pilar Marco Colás Nanomedicine Coordinator
Jaume Veciana ICTS NANBIOSIS / Platforms Coordinator
M. Rosa Aguilar de Armas Industrial Transfer Coordinator
Ramon Mangues Bafalluy Translating Clinical Coordinator
Rosa Villa Training Coordinator
Jesús Santamaría Ramiro Strategic Plan Coordinator
Margarita Blázquez Managing Director
Attached to Scientific Director: Begoña Pérez
Telephone: (+34) 876 555 474 / 636 30 45 03
Eduard Montanya Mías Scientific Director
Ángela Martínez Valverde Programme 1 Coordinator
Franz Martín Bermudo Programme 2 Coordinator
Antonio Zorzano Olarte Programme 3 Coordinator
Ángel Nadal Navajas Education Coordinator
Anna Novials Sardá Outreach Coordinator
Margarita Blázquez Manager

Rafael Bañares Scientific Director
Jordi Gracia Scientific Deputy Director and  Hepatology Program
Sofía Pérez del Pulgar Training and Teaching Coordinator
Javier Ampuero Communication / Hepatology Program
Isabel Fabregat International Projects
Maria Esteve Responsible for strategic actions / Gastroenterology Program
Pere Clave Responsible for strategic actions / Gastroenterology Program / Patients
Bruno Sangro Cancer Program
María Reig Cancer Program
Manuel Rodríguez Perálvarez Hepatology Program (Coordination of transplant groups)
Pablo Gastaminza Transfer coordination
Malu Martínez-Chantar Coordination of platforms
Margarita Blázquez Manager

Pablo Lapunzina Badía Scientific Director
Susan Webb Scientific Assistant Director
Ángel Carracedo Translational Genetic Medicine Programme
Rafael Artuch Inherited Metabolic and Mitochondrial Medicine Programme
Pia Gallano Neurological Disorders Programme
Cristina Fillat Paediatric and Developmental Medicine Programme
Carmen Ayuso Sensorineural Pathology Programme
Susan Webb Endocrine Medicine Programme
Juan Antonio Bueren Inherited Cancer and Related Syndromes Programme
Luis Pérez Jurado Trainning Programme
Margarita Blázquez Manager

Ferran Barbé Illá Scientific Director
Jesús Ruiz-Cabello Osuna Scientific Assistant Director
José Luis López-Campos

Chronic Respiratory Diseases Coordinator

Antoni Torres Martí Infectious Respiratory Diseases Coordinator
Francisco Pérez Vizcaino

Singular Respiratory  Diseases Coordinator

Laura Amado Rodríguez

Training Programme Coordinator

Javier Muñoz Bravo

Attached to Scientific Director

Maria Arguimbau Anglada Project Manager
Margarita Blázquez Manager

Marina Pollán Santamaría Scientific Director
Jordi Alonso Caballero Scientific Assistant Director
Mª José Sánchez Pérez P1. Epidemiology and Control of Chronic Diseases
Pere Godoy García P2. Communicable Disease Prevention, Surveillance and Control (PREVICET)
Juan Carlos Galán Montemayor P3. Biological and Behavioural Determinants in the Contraction and Spread of Communicable Diseases in Vulnerable Populations (DAPET Programme)
Mª José López Medina P4. Social Determinants of Health
Mariana Fátima Fernández Cabrera P5. Epidemiology and Prevention in connection with Environmental and Occupational Health
Antoni Serrano Blanco P6. Health Service Evaluation
José Ignacio Pijoán Zubizarreta P7. Clinical Epidemiology
Beatriz Pérez Gómez Training Programme
Margarita Blázquez Manager

Carlos Diéguez Scientific Director
Jordi Salas Nutrition Programme coordinator
Dolores Corella Nutrition Programme coordinator
Estefanía Toledo Nutrition-Cohorts Programme coordinatorn
Francisco Tinahones Obesity-related complications Programme coordinator
Fernando Fernández-Aranda Obesity and Neurocognition Programme coordinator
Mª Pui Portillo Physiopathology of body weight Hosmeostasis and Adipobiology
Empar Lurbe Child-youth obesity Programme coordinator
José Manuel Fernández-Real Scientific Platforms coordinator
Manuel Tena-Sempere Training Programme coordinator
Margarita Blázquez CIBER Manager
Attached to Scientific Management: Leticia Álvarez Mangas
Telephone: 670 67 66 63
Eduard Vieta Pascual Scientific Director
José Luis Ayuso Mateos Scientific Deputy Director and International Projects Area Coordinator
Juan Carlos Leza Therapeutic Innovation Program Coordinator
Vicent Balanzá Bipolar Disorder Program Coordinator
Edith Pomarol Schizophrenia Program Coordinator
Carmen Moreno Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Program Coordinator
Esther Berrocoso Training and Mobility Coordinator
Diego José Palao Vidal Depression and Suicide Prevention Program Coordinator
Lourdes Fañanás Quality Area Coordinator
José Javier Meana Martínez Platforms Coordinator
Virginia Soria Tomás Psychosomatic, Anxiety and Impulse Control Disorders Program Coordinator
Margarita Blázquez Management